Verkaufen
Bücher & mehr kaufen
Kleidung kaufen
nach
oben

The Utopia of Rules: On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

Keine Bewertungen
Gebraucht - Sehr gut
17,29 €
Gebraucht - Gut
17,29 €
  • Geprüfte Gebrauchtware
  • Versandkostenfrei ab 10 Euro
 % SALE % 
sofort lieferbar

17,29

inkl. MwSt, zzgl. Versandkosten
Zahlungsarten
Versand

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?

To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber-one of our most important and provocative thinkers-traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing-even romantic-about bureaucracy.

Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.

An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us-and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

Medium Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 272
Erscheinungsdatum 2015-03-10
Sprache Englisch
Herausgeber Melville House
EAN / ISBN-13 9781612194486
Bei Amazon kaufen

Die gelieferte Auflage kann ggf. abweichen.

 
Kundenbewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.

medimops verwendet Cookies und ähnliche Technologien, um Ihre Geräte- und Browsereinstellungen nachzuvollziehen. weiterlesen
Impressum | Datenschutz
Newsletter 10% Rabatt